Roman Holiday

I watched “Roman Holiday” on 超字幕 in the LLC. This movie told us ” A sad love story in only one day”. The heroine of the movie is Audrey Hepburn. She played the part of a princess. One day she visited Rome. She wanted to experience ordinary life. The American reporter named Joe Bradley played by Gregory Peck didn’t recognize the princess when he saw her for the first time. She lay on a bench because of a sleeping drug given by  her doctor. He took care of her, then she followed him. Next day, he found she was the princess because he saw the picture  of the princess’s face on a newspaper. He thought he could get a big scoop. He took her to Trevi Fountain, The Mouth of Truth, Spanish Square and many kinds of places. Every time she went to some famouse places, her face became cheerful. He didn’t want to publish her scoop in a newspaper. As time went by, they fell in love with each other.

By the way, I learned some useful expressions from this movie. The first one is “I’m up to my ears in work“. It means とても忙しい in Japanese. The second one is “They’ll have a fit“. Fit means 気絶. The whole sentence means 気絶する. The third one is “I can take a hint“. It means 消えてやるよ.  The last one is ” This whole thing might easily blow sky-high”. It means 全てパーになる. It is like slang. I like the tone of princess in this movie. Her English is beautiful and easy to listen to.

This was black and white movie, but the Rome view was very beautiful. I cannot feel what the princess think about the common life. But I can feel how interesting the common life is. I want to go there and experience love story like this movie LOL

One thought on “Roman Holiday

  1. You are so cute!! I’m looking forward to go to Aso together!!

Leave a comment